PLACES OF INTERESTS
Ancient gateway to Hollywood was used for centuries by Native Americans
who called it “Cahuenga, little hills,” traveled by Spanish explorer
Don Gaspar de Portola and used 80 years later by Kit Carson. In 1886,
Kansas prohibitionist Harvey Wilcox and his wife, Daeida, bought 120
acres of the Cahuenga Valley and named their home “Hollywood.” In 1911,
much to everyone’s dismay, the movies came to town and it went from
a sleepy village to one of world renown.
1750 N. Vine St., (323) 462-6252. World’s first circular office building
and one of Hollywood’s landmarks. Dedicated in 1956, light on its rooftop
“H-O-L-L-Y-W-O-O-D” in Morse code. Gold albums of its many artists displayed
in lobby. John Lennon and other Capitol artists’ stars in sidewalk.
Celebrity Centre International/Manor Hotel
5930 Franklin Ave., (323) 960-3100. Owned by Church of Scientology,
the former Chateau Elysee was Hollywood’s first residential hotel. Guests
included Clark Gable, Mary Pickford, Carole Lombard, Cary Grant, George
Burns Gracie Allen, Douglas Fairbanks, Jr., Ginger Rogers and the creator
of Tarzan, Edgar Rice Burroughs. The hotel has been spectacularly restored
and is open to the public, as is its Renaissance Restaurant.
Charlie Chaplin Studio
(Jim Henson Productions)
1416 N. LaBrea Ave. (323) 802-1500
Built in 1918 to resemble a row of English country homes, Chaplin made
many of his classic films here including “Modern Times” and “City Lights.”
Formerly AM Records, the studio was recently purchased by Jim Henson
Productions, who honored Chaplin with a statue of Kermit the Frog dressed
like the Little Tramp. Tours are sometimes available; call for information.
(See Celebrity Centre/Manor Hotel)
8221 Sunset Blvd., (323) 656-1010. Historical-cultural landmark hotel
for the famous since 1927. Its fantasy-like, Tudor architecture is a
perfect example of the style of the times.
6360 Sunset Blvd., (323) 464-4226. Restored as part of the Arclight
Hollywood movie-going experience, th e unique geodesic-shaped theatre
designed by Buckminster Fuller was originally built in 1963. (See FILM)